17 Karnataka MLAs Stay Disqualified, But Can Contest Polls: Supreme Court

The disqualification of 17 Karnataka MLAs whose revolt triggered the collapse of the Janata Dal Secular-Congress government and the takeover by the BS Yediyurappa-led BJP will stand, the Supreme Court said today. But the court has cancelled the Speaker's decision to bar the rebel MLAs from contesting polls till 2023. "In a parliamentary democracy, morality is eq more